Three Belikins and Caye Caulker

We were flying over Belize. The landscape below us filled me with the energy I lacked during my long hours in transit. Now, I was leaning over the people next to me who were sitting next to the window, stretching my neck, trying to get a view at the jungle below us. The man next to the window started talking to me,

“Is this your first time in Belize?” and

“Are you traveling alone?”

The girl next to him quickly related to me, “I always travel alone as well. Nate hates to travel though, he’s never left Canada. I’m trying to open Nate up to the world of traveling so he can travel with me now that we’re married!”

Trish and Nathan were two Canadians on their honeymoon! I was so impressed about their choice of honeymoon activities and location. Instead of staying in a 5 star resort on some fancy tourist destination, getting spa treatments and whatever else people on honey moons do, they were traveling to a more low key destination with just a bit of luggage and staying in modest accommodations.

The conversation eventually lead to me asking if they were taking a taxi to the city, “Yeah we are, you want to ride with us?” and after that, we were friends.

As fate has it, our first stops were the same. They happened to be going to Caye Caulker as well. We got a taxi driver to take us to the water taxi.

Caye Caulker is an island, or ‘caye’ (pronounced key) as they call it, off the Caribbean coast of Belize.
There are two main islands in Belize: Ambergris Caye and Caye Caulker, with about 300 other cayes smaller in size. Ambergris is the biggest and where people with more money than I have go. It’s the island with tons of nice resorts and expensive places to eat. A lovely place, I’m sure, but other backpackers I met seemed to favor Caye Caulker, with plenty of reason! Caye Caulker is more of a backpacker destination. The caye is only about a mile long, with three main streets: Front, Middle and Back street. The food is AMAZING, the vibe is great, the motto is: Go Slow. You see people walking the beach barefoot and simply and plainly, enjoying life. Caye Caulker was such an amazing destination. I recommend it to all backpackers who enjoy the feel of being on an island, snorkeling, diving, good food, good beer, great people. It’s one of my favorite places I’ve been to, I can’t wait to return.

Nathan easily paid for the taxi and we bought our round trip tickets (valid for one month) to Caye Caulker. The men took our luggage and gave us a ticket for it. We decided it was time for our first meal in Belize. We ate at Annie’s at the terminal. We all have been dying to try for Belize’s reputable seafood. There was no hesitation: Three lobsters plates and three beers, Please.

Image

Image

My god, the lobster was delicious! There’s nothing better than a delicious meal with a delicious beer to wash it down with. Belikin, the local beer, is one of my favorite beers in the world!
We ordered three more beers each, and took our food go, our water taxi had arrived.

The water taxi is a boat that takes you on a 30-40 minute drive to the islands. Luckily, ours was covered. During December and January (I think even from November – February, actually) you can expect random bursts of rain in Belize. It rained while we got on the boat, and we happily sipped our beer as we raced across the Caribbean Sea. The rain stopped when we arrived.

We saw the painted huts lined along the island. We arrived at the wooden pier. I step off, look at the beautiful blue ocean around us, and gawk. I can’t believe I’m here. I am always so overwhelmed about how lucky I am to get to travel. I turn to Trish and say, “I feel so bad for everyone who is not here right now. This is amazing.” It wasn’t the last time I said that.

Image

ImageImage

Please subscribe if you enjoyed this post and want to hear more about travel in Belize!

2 thoughts on “Three Belikins and Caye Caulker

Leave a Reply

